Saturday, August 14, 2010

The Mother's symbol and the Petals

The Mother's symbol and the Petals

The meditation rooms inside the twelve stone-clad 'petals' surrounding the Matrimandir carry the names and colours of the 'petals' in the Mother's symbol: These are: 
  • Sincerity
  • Humility
  • Gratitude
  • Perseverance
  • Aspiration
  • Receptivity
  • Progress
  • Courage
  • Goodness
  • Generosity
  • Equality
  • Peace

 "The first eight concern the attitude towards the Divine, and the last four towards humanity." (Mother's symbol)
Meaning of colours

In March 1934, Sri Aurobindo indicated through the (above placed) colour chart of the twelve petals pertaining to the symbol:  Center and four powers, white;

The twelve all different colors in three groups: top group red, passing to orange towards yellow; next group, yellow passing through green towards blue; and third group, blue passing through violet towards red.

If white is not convenient, the center may be gold (powder). 

According to Sri Aurobindo the colours mentioned generally have the following significances, though the exact meaning may vary "with the field, the combinations, the character and shades of the color, the play of forces": red- physical , yellow- thinking mind,  blue- higher mind, orange- supramental in the physical, violet
- divine compassion or grace,  gold- divine Truth, green- life, white- the light of the Mother, or the Divine Consciousness

Colours of meditation rooms

The above mentioned names and colours have been integrated into the sequence of the meditation rooms which are being completed inside each of the twelve petals surrounding the structure in the following order: Sincerity - light blue

Peace - deep blue

Equality - blue violet

Generosity - pure violet

Goodness - reddish violet

Courage - red

Progress - orange red

Receptivity - orange

Aspiration - orange yellow

Perseverance - pale yellow

Gratitude - pale green

Humility - deep green


No comments: